top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Mena

CAPS STUDENT HERO: NURIA VILLANUEVA

Hey Slugs! This week’s CAPS Student Hero is Nuria Villanueva! It is Nuria’s first year with the peer education program, but she has been anxious to contribute since her first day! Nuria is always trying to give back to her community, whether it be through CAPS or finding service opportunities on her own. Nuria’s most recent contribution to the group is our PEP Recruitment flier!

What do you do regularly to relieve stress?


I relieve daily stress by listening to music, hanging out with roommates, going to the gym, and paying attention to my own feelings whenever I feel like there needs to be a pause. I do trust myself to take care of my life, especially my mental conditions. 🙂


Tell us something you’re passionate about outside of school (clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)


I am a volunteer at the Family Service Agency of Central Coast, and I also am a research assistant. For activities outside of academic curriculum, I enjoy doing sports, drawings, and hanging out with my dogs back home


If you could share one thing you would like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?


CAPS is not a program for so-called “mentally-illed/weak individuals” — it’s a safe place to keep your little secrets and concerns confidential, while helping to maintain your healthy mental states. We all understand that it can be difficult opening up to someone who may be too “closed” to you, so why not give it a try at CAPS? 😀

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page