top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Mena

CAPS STUDENT HERO: REED ASSELBAYE

Hey slugs! Here at CAPS we know it can be hard to keep your composure in the midst of midterms. Someone who seems to always be composed is this week’s second student hero, Reed! It is Reed’s first year working with the peer education program and his calming presence helps us all stress less! Keep reading to learn more about him and what he does to help his stress!


What do you do regularly to relieve stress?

When I feel stressed, exercising is helpful because I feel less angsty when I’m moving my body. The cool temperatures in Santa Cruz are perfect for running outside, especially if I’ve been cooped up indoors. When I’m too tired to exercise, I have Uber Eats slide through and I enjoy a scrumptuous meal in bed.


Tell us something you’re passionate about outside of school (clubs, hobbies, interests, volunteering, activities, etc.)


In addition to being a CAPS Peer Educator, I’m an Academic Intern at the African American Resource & Cultural Center. I’m dedicating to improving the experiences of Black folks on campus as well as the broader community. Beyond those interests, I’m a strong enthusiast for Mariah Carey and Rihanna. Favorite songs are “My All” and “Kiss It Better” respectively.


If you could share one thing you would like your peers to know about CAPS, what would it be?


I wish more folks could understand that seeking help for your mental health is not a sign of weakness. Rather, it’s a sign of strength, because you’re able to acknowledge that you’re going through something and you’re willing to take control in some way.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page