top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsabella Mena

STAYING MOTIVATED

Midterm season can be really rough here at Santa Cruz. Whether it’s having multiple in a week or what feels like having one per week until finals, it can be hard to stay motivated in your classes. Our peer educator, Maria, agrees that it can be hard to keep motivated. Keep reading below to see what she does to stay motivated!


Staying Motivated


By: Maria Hernandez

Being able to keep your motivation up can get extremely hard when things are not going the way you would like them to. This past year has definitely been hard trying to keep my motivation going in school and in my personal life. I find myself not trying to do more because I just cannot find a big enough reason. There have been times when I see absolutely no point in studying for a test because I know that I will not do good on it or I will easily give up on an activity, such as going to the gym, because I just seem to lose interest. These thoughts that go through my head really affect me because it just keeps my from really trying in school and doing things that can better help my health.

Recently I have been trying to change up somethings in order to get out of these negative thought habits that seem to block my motivation. One of my first tips is to set mini goals. Setting goals can sound basic, but it honestly it makes a difference. Create a mini goal for yourself such as getting certain score on a test or doing an activity a couple times a week, but make sure to be reasonable with yourself and do not set high expectations right away. Take it slow and steady. Another tip that has been helpful for me is rewarding yourself after completing the mini goals. This allows you to have something to work for. This could range from treating yourself to some ice cream or just going out with friends. These small rewards can really help you stay on track because it keeps you from dropping whatever you are trying to accomplish. My last tip is to try to stay positive. Sometimes just being your own cheerleader while you are completing goals can really help you stay on track. Negative thoughts only lead to negative outcomes. Stay positive and remember that things take time. Working for them are what make whatever you are trying to accomplish worth it, so stay motivated!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page